Spring has Sprung

Chocolate Mint and Lemon Balm

Spring has sprung with nutritious and beautiful arrivals.

I just ate a delightful salad of many lettuces, fresh picked herbs and veggies.

The picture of my mint and lemon balm were just two that were included into my bowl.

I also added a sprig of stinging nettle that I dipped into hot water quickly to kill the sting before adding to my salad. Yes, I could have added some steamed veggies on top  of my salad, as well, but this time the only thing even remotely cooked was the nettle.

The next picture is a pot of lettuces that I am growing. MMMmmm, they are so sweet. They taste much yummier than store bought!

 

 

One of my old peach bins…

 

I have three old bottomless peach bins that have been converted into little garden boxes. Thank you for getting the manure pile from the farm across the street for my garden, Kyle.

There is cow, pig, chicken and maybe some horse manure in all that stuff. It makes for food that the plants sure like.

The boxes are high enough that my chickens, so far, have stayed out of them.

Small area slightly fenced to discourage the chickens and wild rabbits from entering.

I put a low chicken wire fence around a small area where I will plant okra and melons. I have a few pots of herbs( like this oregano in the last picture) placed around. The different smells of the herbs may confuse some of the bugs. Hopefully, the little pests won’t eat everything.  I would rather share some of my garden with the pests than making my plants poisonous to me from spraying  bug killer out there.

 

This is a small place. I don’t think its even a quarter acre, but there are apricot, olive and apple trees in the front and back. Some artichoke plants have sneaked between the apricot tress. Other plants are  stuck where ever they can fit. I’m looking forward to more fantastic salads and veggies when spring gives way to summer.

 

Leave a Reply

