Gail’s Get Well Soup

When I got home from the hospital, I was very weak but knew I needed to build myself back up physically.

I have a lot of knowledge of what is right to put in my body but I don’t always follow what I know. And now I have paid the price and ended up in the hospital. I’m back home and determined to stay on the right road. I don’t like being sick.

Thankfully, I had stuff readily available to make a light, but nutritious soup. I had frozen

I luv colored carrots!

I luv colored carrots!

some chicken broth from when I boiled some chicken. I had a bunch of homegrown tomatoes that needed to be used soon. So I washed and peeled them and put them in my food processor. Then I washed some organic colored carrots and added those to the tomatoes. I thought about cauliflower but didn’t think my tummy was up to that yet. I put some chopped veggies like organic celery on to cook in the chicken broth and added water occasionally.Patio herbs 1

Separately I cut up green onions and garlic. I went out to my garden in pots and harvested some basil, oregano and rosemary. All of this I chopped and put in a container in the refrigerator.

While my soup cooked I added a dash of Worchester sauce, salt and pepper and little

Spices to cook with.

Spices to cook with.

dash of powdered herbs. I put this in the refrigerator. My tummy couldn’t take it yet, but it was ready for tomorrow. Today I just ate applesauce and the water from boiled rice. Later in the day I ate a small piece of boiled sweet potato.  When I first woke up, before eating, I took a heaping tablespoon of organic, unsweetened yogurt. I do this at least a half hour before eating anything else. I’m trying to build my intestinal flora back up after having had antibiotics.

Next day– for lunch I warmed up my soup and added turmeric. When that was done, I added the garlic, green onions, and herbs on top of my bowl of soup. It gave my soup a little crunch and lots of flavor.

I like to sit in my glider chair surrounded by my plants and herbs.

I like to sit in my glider chair surrounded by my plants and herbs.

Leave a Reply

