Hope on the Rope

Sometimes life isn’t as kind to you as it might be for some others. Sometimes it is downright mean. Finally, we just bow our head and cry out an SOS. But there is a rope to grab that will be the strength you don’t have any more. That rope swung out in front of me today.
It isn’t easy growing older. But when life takes everything you have materially, it makes it even harder. When you don’t have a way to support yourself and have to rely on someone else, it also takes your dignity. When you see you took a wrong turn and you take a path to get back on the road of self sustaining, you fall and bruise yourself. But you get back up and keep fighting. You keep trying to walk to get to your destination. Sometimes you feel like what is the reason? Why do I even try?

Keep your eyes open. There are beautiful things still along the path you are fighting to stay upon. There are still flowers that bloom among the thorns that tear at you. And you are grateful for those. But you feel yourself wearing down. I know. I didn’t find any hope for this life. I have almost given up on that. I see no future in my life. None. But I have hold of the rope again. I know there will be a better place that I don’t have to struggle so hard one day. It certainly isn’t here and now. But it is a hope. Hope on the rope.

Even among the hard rocks we can find a tiny bit of beauty to help make it thru another day

Even among the hard rocks we can find a tiny bit of beauty to help make it thru another day

It is a fight to keep the right attitude. Others tell you to hang on and keep going. Hang on to what? There is no hope for my life now. But there is something to hang on to. Yet, you find anger growing inside of you at times. Then the tears start spilling over.

You have no hope of a special someone to share life’s troubles and life’s joy. You have no income to support yourself. You have lost almost every material thing in life.
But today I reached out for that rope I mentioned. I didn’t have any strength emotionally to continue. That rope starts with the word THE.
THE LORD IS MY SHEPHERD.
Think about the word THE. It means specific. The one and only. That word points out the importance of the following word which is Lord. But let’s just look at the word THE today.

There are some flowers along this troubled way

There are some flowers along this troubled way

“THE” is the part of the rope you grab. It is swinging out in front of you. Telling you to look to someone for help. It tells you that Someone is the only One. It tells you the Someone is the ONE who really means anything in this world. It is introducing you to that Someone. That Someone is where you will find the strength to keep going. That Someone is the only One that truly has HOPE for you.

2 thoughts on “Hope on the Rope

  1. Praying for you Gail. So glad to read you are hanging on to your faith. So sorry I can’t help you. Praying God sends an angel very soon.

    Like

  2. i can relate to the rope, i had my whole world destroyed, my spirit crushed, when your manhood destroyed, home, health, loss of the most precious person on earth to me, and much more, i remember my rope who is faithful and i find hope ever day because he cares for me, there is hope for the future here also because he lives and cares, that rope is wrapped around his children, even when we can’t see it, take comfort in that..

    Like

Leave a Reply

