The magic of Glass

Glass you can use
Glass you can use

Where does glass stand in your life?  How about plastic?  Which will win?

Plastic has its place in our life.  But should its place contain our food and beverages?

Every calorie counts.  I should say I count every calorie.  I’m short in stature and don’t have room for too many of those little guys that make me big.  So, the few calories I get need to taste good and be good for me.  For you, too, right?

Well, the flavor of plastic seems to leak into the food contained in it along with chemicals.  Even my water is not as refreshing as when I drink it from a glass container.

And PLEASE don’t microwave in plastic.  I’ll let you research just how bad that is for you, if you don’t want to take my word.

We live in a toxic world and need to fight for our health.  We should take as many precautions as possible.

I will try to show a positive side for plastic.  There are some very cute plastic containers that don’t even cost a lot.  OR DOES IT? It may cost your health!  Now that is expensive.  Uh-oh, that positive side for plastic didn’t work out so well.  Let us move on.

I have a glass quart jar that use to contain raw honey.  I put distilled water in it (or spring water) and took it to work to drink.  It still has the fresh smell of honey which is actually nice.  My water tastes so much better now that when it was in plastic bottles.

 

 

Some glass containers
Some glass containers

I also have some old glass quart drinking jars from years ago that are very convenient. But they don’t make those anymore. 😦

Notice the handle on the side.  Just love this.
Notice the handle on the side. Just love this.

 

 

You can buy glass bowls with plastic lids. (ah-ha! the lids are plastic. That’s one good point for plastic.)
At a flea market I even found glass lids for my mason jars. You can buy rubber seals for them at Amazon, but I’m not looking to seal them. I just use them to cover whatever I’m toting to work or a picnic. Sometimes the metal lids left a metal taste in my ginger/lemonade.

Use your imagination. Even though its harder to find glass containers these days, they are still out there. You buy things that are contained in glass. Recycle!

It is fun, healthy and tickles your taste buds when you use glass.

The ring is metal but the part that touches your drink is glass.
The ring is metal but the part that touches your drink is glass.
Leave a Reply

